A Toast tae Rabbie!

As it was the 25th of January it was only right that I celebrated the birthday of our national bard, even if I had to turn Alberta upside down in search if a haggis! Turns out there was one very close by so you had a narrow miss Albert! Someone from work very kindly agreed to drive and pick them up for me, I ordered two as I knew a lot of people would want a taste! So after that was sorted it was time to go and get the rest of the ingredients, tatties and neeps! Only there is a lack of turnip here so just tatties and tatties I’m afraid!

20130126-131827.jpg

After my escapade it was time to get the house sorted. Being the only Scot in the group I took it upon myself to educate everyone on why we were celebrating. So I went mad with the sticky tape. First up the front door, so everyone in the building (well my floor anyway) would know what day it was!

20130126-133034.jpg

And then every other available surface in my house. And my Polish roommates didn’t escape either with the Address To A Haggis taped to their door in its entirety.

20130126-134145.jpg

So as I had succeeded in gathering up the other crucial ingredients, plus cream for the sauce it was time to make a move. I baked my haggis, wrapped in tinfoil at gas mark four. Each one was just over two pounds so I slow cooked them for 3 hours. While they were in, I boiled five kilos of tatties with one extremely large chopped onion in the water as well. When they were soft I mashed them with cream, butter, salt, pepper and threw in fresh chopped chives. I also made a separate batch lactose free as I knew some of my guests were intolerant. For the sauce I took a carton of heavy cream, added in three tablespoons of Grouse, a tablespoon of wholegrain mustard and let it gently simmer until it reduced a bit. When everyone arrived I let each person read a verse of the Address and hearing Canadians and Americans trying to read in Scots was worth all the effort alone!

20130126-134553.jpg
So here it is, the beast itself! I lie, this is the leftover one, which I am about to go cut up and fry for my breakfast! But it was a good night and one I’m glad I can celebrate year after year!

Fare weel, alas, forever!

Leave a Reply

